Everyday Prayers: Dreams

This series, published every Friday or Saturday, will focus on specific prayers for the Thiasos of the Starry Bull. These prayers may be original creations, chants, translations of ancient prayers, or analyses of modern ones, but all will be useful for members of the Thiasos.

It’s said that there are two gates in the Underworld, one made of horn and one of ivory; through the former pass dreams that are true, and through the latter dreams that are false.  Be our dreams true or false, they have merit–and an examination of our dreams can give us a better glimpse into the working of our own mind.  They can also bring messages from the Gods, and from our ancestors and other spirits.

May my dreams tonight be for those who need them most.

This week’s prayer is actually part of a larger project that I was encouraged to undertake as part of my developing devotions to the pantheon of the Thiasos.  Since I joined, I’ve been trying to write my dreams down more.  My dreams are colorful; detailed; full of meaning, full of layers that have to be broken down with Jungian symbolism and interviewed like celebrities before I’ll understand their full breadth.  Sometimes, Someone is trying to speak to me through them and adds a bit extra vividness and Meaning to a dream.  Either way, ever since I was little, they’ve been a way for me to take a peak “beneath the hood” of my own mind, and they’re invaluable for that.

(Meanwhile, my husband has dreams about shopping at Williams-Sonoma…because he really likes shopping at Williams-Sonoma.  Not everyone is going to have epic zombie-apocalypse dreams like I sometimes get.  Bright side: his dreams are very easy to interpret.)

I’m going to try this prayer before I go to bed.  Not repeated, as a meditation chant might be, but said once, with conviction, and with the hope that my dreams tonight will help whoever needs the help most.  Maybe they’ll help my own mind break down what’s been happening in my life; I anticipate this being the likeliest result.  Maybe my ancestors will bring me something I need to know.  Maybe Apollo Soranus will show up in a cemetery again, all tan skin and purple cloth and wolf head.

And maybe this opens my unconscious (subconscious?) headspace up a little too much.  I’ll see how it works out.

If you want to try it, come dream with me.

(And keep a journal and a pen next to your bed so you can record your dreams as soon as you wake up.  No, you will not remember them later in the day.  Or even five minutes after waking up.  I’ve found this out the hard way too many times.)

Emily Kamp is a Hellenic polytheist, devoted in particular to Hestia, Hermes, Apollo Soranus, and Dionysos the Starry Bull. When not teaching high-school Latin or making horrendous puns, she is the moderator of an online shrine to Hestia (which doubles as a daily devotional for polytheists of all stripes).

One comment

  1. I don’t claim to be much. But dreams are something I’ve been working with since I was a youth. They have a major impact on my life and something I think deeply upon. I know this sounds silly but Dionysus has addressed me in dream starting with ‘I will call you, dream seeker, as you are a dreamer.’
    I was amazed at how concise He was. Anyway, dreams and dream interpretation are very important aspects, it gives us a chance to look at ourselves from another view, it forces us to self analyse and even break down those boundaries of ego or things we don’t want to think about. Dream flat out tells us our faults and most often tells us how to improve ourselves. In the case of ‘false dreams’ I’d count these in the realm of the subconscious trying to translate this weird world we live in, but there is always truth in falseness from my point of view. 😉
    Thank you Emily.

Leave a Reply

